Association of State Flood Plain Managers Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Upcoming Events
Association of State Flood Plain Managers

What's New
Association of State Flood Plain Managers

Association of State Flood Plain Managers Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Association of State Flood Plain Managers

Share

Wednesday
30
Aug
2017

 
ASFPM Webinar

Structural Elevation (Raising Buildings) for Flood Hazard Mitigation: Elevation Basics Webinar
Location:  Online
Time:  1:00 PM - 2:30 PM 
 
HOST
Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM)

LOCATION
Online - Webinar
August 30, 2017
1:00pm - 2:30pm Central Time
(starting at 2pm ET, 12pm MT, 11am PT, 10am AKT, 9am HT)

DETAILS
Structural elevation is a proven method for flood hazard mitigation. Elevation reduces the risk of flooding as well as lowering the cost of flood insurance. Elevation can stabilize property values thereby preserving vital tax revenues to local schools and governments. Private cap-ital and grant programs have helped to elevate tens of thousands of buildings in the US, but at least 2 million pre-FIRM buildings remain that are not compliant with minimum NFIP Flood Insurance Rate Map (FIRM) elevation requirements. As NFIP flood insurance rates increase for all pre-FIRM buildings in the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA), it is important for floodplain administrators to understand how structural elevation projects are put together, where to find financing, and how to educate property owners about elevation.

In this webinar, you will:
  • Learn how to field questions from property owners about elevation for flood mitigation.
  • Gain a broad understanding about structural elevation for flood hazard mitigation.
  • Get information on how to plan, finance, and execute a structural elevation project, including tips on how to select a contractor.
Target Audience: Floodplain management professionals, planners, code officials, resilience officers and elected officials who deal with property owners impacted by increasing flood policy rates on pre-FIRM buildings in the SFHA

All registered participants will receive access to an electronic recording of this eLearning training opportunity!

Presenters
Roderick Scott, CFM
L&R Resources, LLC

CONTINUING EDUCATION
1 CEC for CFMs who participate in the entire live event connecting individually, under their own name and email address.

COST
$40* ASFPM Individual Members
$55* ASFPM Corporate / Agency Partners / Chapters
$70 Non-Members
*Members must enter the event promo code at registration to receive the preferred rate.  View our video tutorial on how to locate and apply your member promo code.

REGISTRATION
Click here to register online.

https://attendee.gototraining.com/r/61880898553362
945
Attached File:  ElevateStructures_8.30.2017_Webinar_Promo.pdf

Click here for trainings on this date.
Click here for conferences on this date.
Click here for chapter conferences on this date.
Click here for webinars on this date.

 Email this Event to a Friend
  Download vCalendar
  Subscribe to RSS feed
  Back To Calendar



Association of State Flood Plain Managers
575 D'Onofrio Drive, Suite 200  |  Madison, WI 53719  |  Phone: 608-828-3000  |  Fax: 608-828-6319  |  Email Us

Terms and Conditions  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us
Association of State Floodplain Managers ®  Copyright © . All Rights Reserved.