Association of State Flood Plain Managers Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Upcoming Events
Association of State Flood Plain Managers

What's New
Association of State Flood Plain Managers

Association of State Flood Plain Managers Association of State Flood Plain Managers
Association of State Flood Plain Managers

Share

What's New

<< Back to News List            GLCFS Summer 2012 Newsletter Announces Discovery Meetings >>

Bill S.2039 Scheduled for House Floor action TODAY (7/23/2012)
Monday, July 23, 2012

Last week, ASFPM Members received a member action alert for S.2039.  The cumulative efforts of ASFPM and others, in raising concerns with S.2039, resulted in the bill being pulled from the suspension calendar.  However, it has returned to the calendar for consideration today.  This bill will come to the Floor under a procedure called Suspension of the Rules.  This procedure is used for bills deemed non-contoversial and requires a 2/3 vote for passage.   The measure passed the Senate under a similar procedure last January and is now being brought to the House floor with no committee consideration or hearings.   ASFPM is strongly urging that Members of Congress oppose the consideration of this controversial legislation under Suspension of the Rules rather than regular order. 



If you are able and would like to let your Representative know of your concerns, please call his or her office either in Washington D.C. or locally.   Due to the scheduled action on the bill today, this is the best way to register concern that: 

1. This bill should not be considered under Suspension of the Rules.   Too many policy issues. 
2. Use of deed-restricted buyout land sets bad precedent and could result in use of taxpayer mitigation funds to produce more not less, flood disaster costs to the federal government. 

 

How to reach your Representative
House members of Congress' websites are generally: www.(MemberLastName).house.gov.   Contact phone numbers should be available through their website.  When calling,  ask to speak to the staffer handling flood hazard issues, and be sure to leave a message for that person with the two key points listed above.  If it is possible to note your professional affiliation, please do. 

It is important to do this today if possible, and no later than 2 PM Eastern (1 PM Central, 12 PM Mountain, 11 AM Pacific).  





Association of State Flood Plain Managers
575 D'Onofrio Drive, Suite 200  |  Madison, WI 53719  |  Phone: 608-828-3000  |  Fax: 608-828-6319  |  Email Us

Terms and Conditions  |  Site Map  |  Contact Us
Association of State Floodplain Managers ®  Copyright © . All Rights Reserved.