MEMBERSHIP & COMMUNITIES

State Hazard Mitigation Officers (SHMOs) – State Contacts

State Hazard Mitigation Officers (SHMOs) – State Contacts

Alaska
Ann Y. Gravier
Alaska Department of Homeland Security
P.O. Box 5750
Fort Richarson, AK 99505-5750
907-428-7045

ready.alaska.gov
Alabama

Michael Johnson
Alabama Emergency Mgmt. Agency
5898 County Rd. 41
P. O. Box 2160
Clanton, AL 35046-2160
205-541-3723
michael.johnson@ema.alabama.gov
ema.alabama.gov

Arkansas

Lacye Blake
Arkansas Department of Emergency Mgmt.
Bldg. 9501, Camp Joseph T. Robinson
North Little Rock, AR 72199-9600
501-683-6724
501-683-7890 Fax
lacye.blake@adem.arkansas.gov
adem.arkansas.gov

Mr. Lima Fiatoa
Territorial Emergency Mgmt. Coordinating Office
P.O. Box 997755
Pago Pago, AS 96799
684-699-6481
lima.fiatoa@tofr.as.gov
americansamoa.gov

Arizona

Duke Jones
Arizona Dept. of Emergency & Military Affairs
5636 E. McDowell Rd., Bldg. M5101
Phoenix, AZ 85008
602-464-6349
tom.jones@azdema.gov
dem.azdema.gov

California

Jennifer L. Hogan
California Emergency Mgmt. Agency
3650 Schriever Ave.
Mather, CA 95655
916-845-8205
jennifer.hogan@caloes.ca.gov
caloes.ca.gov

Colorado

Steve Boand
Colorado Division of Emergency Mgmt.
9195 E. Mineral Ave. #200
Centennial, CO 80112
970-385-1675
steven.boand@state.co.us
colorado.gov

Connecticut

Gemma Fabris, CFM
Connecticut Dept. of Emerg. Svcs. & Public Protection
25 Sigourney St., 6th Floor
Hartford, CT 06106
860-256-0846
gemma.fabris@ct.gov
portal.ct.gov/DEMHS/Emergency-Management/Resources-For-Officials/Hazard-Mitigation

District of Columbia

Donte Lucas
DC, Emergency Mgmt. Agency
2720 Martin Luther King Jr. Ave., S.E., Ste. 245
Washington, DC 20032
dlucas-oep@dc.gov

Florida

Miles Anderson
Florida Dept. of Community Affairs, Emergency Mgmt.
2555 Shumard Oak Blvd.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2100
850-413-9816
850-488-1016 Fax
miles.anderson@em.myflorida.com
floridadisaster.org

Chutomu Nimwes
Micronesia-Disaster Coord.
P.O. Box 490
Kolonia Phonpei, FM
(011) 691-320-2822

Georgia

Terry Lunn
Hazard Mitigation Division
Georgia Emergency Mgmt. Agency

P.O. Box 18055
Atlanta, GA 30316-0055
404-635-7016
terry.lunn@gema.ga.gov
gema.ga.gov

Mr. Leo Espia
Guam Homeland Security, Office of Civil Defense
221 B Chalan Palasyo
Agana Heights, GU 96910
671-635-9790
leo.espia@ghs.guam.gov
aahd.us/2012/03/guam-emergency-preparedness-resources/

Hawaii

David Kennard
Hawaii State Civil Defense
3949 Diamond Head Rd.
Honalulu, HI 96816-4495
808-733-4300
david.n.kennard@hawaii.gov
scd.hawaii.gov

Iowa

Dan Schmitz
Iowa Division of Emergency Mgmt.
7900 Hickman Rd., Ste. 500
Windsor Heights, IA 50324
515-725-9369
dan.schmitz@iowa.gov
homelandsecurity.iowa.gov/

Iowa

Susan Cleverley, CFM
Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security
4040 Guard St., Bldg. #600
Boise, ID 83705
208-422-5726
scleverley@bhs.idaho.gov
BHS.idaho.gov

Illinois

Ron Davis, CFM
Illinois Emergency Mgmt. Agency
1035 Outer Park Dr.
Springfield, IL 62704
217-524-1003
ron.davis@illinois.gov
illinois.gov

Indiana

Mary Moran (Acting)
Indiana Emgergency Mgmt. Agency
302 W. Washington St., Rm. E208
Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-3831
mmoran@dhs.in.gov
IN.gov/dhs

Kansas

Jacob Gray
Kansas Division of Emergency Mgmt.
2800 S.W. Topeka Blvd.
Topeka, KS 66611-1287
785-646-1973 Office
785-646-1426 Fax
jacob.s.gray.nfg@mail.mil
kansastag.gov/kdem

Kentucky

Geni Jo Brawner
Kentucky Division of Emergency Mgmt.
100 Airport Rd., Fl. 3
Frankfort, KY 40601-6161
502-607-5797
geneva.j.brawner.nfg@mail.mil
kyem.ky.gov

Louisiana

Jeffrey Giering, CFM
Louisiana Governor’s Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness
1201 Capitol Access Rd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
225-379-3005
jeffrey.giering@la.gov
Gohsep.la.gov

Massachusetts

Sarah J. White
MA Emergency Management Agency
Mitigation Unit Supervisor
400 Worcester Road
Framingham, MA 01702
508-820-2053
sarah.white@state.ma.us
mass.gov/orgs/massachusetts-emergency-management-agency

Maryland

Chas Eby (Interim)
Maryland Emergency Mgmt. Agency
5401 Rue Saint Lo Dr.
Reisterstown, MD 21136
410-274-6690
chas.eby@maryland.gov
mema.state.md.us

Maine

JoAnn Mooney
Maine Emergency Mgmt. Agency
45 Commerce Center
State House Station 72
Augusta, ME 04333
207-624-4466
joann.e.mooney@maine.gov
maine.gov

Michigan

Matt Schnepp
Michigan State Police, Emergency Mgmt.
7150 Harris Drive
Dimondale, MI 48821
517-284-3950
schneppm1@michigan.gov
michigan.gov/msp

Minnesota

Jennifer Nelson
State of Minnesota
Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Mgmt.
444 Cedar St., Ste. 223
St. Paul, MN 55101
651-201-7427
jennifer.e.nelson@state.mn.us
hsem.state.mn.us

Missouri

Elizabeth Weyrauch, CFM
Missouri Emergency Mgmt. Agency
2302 Militia Dr.
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-526-9100
elizabeth.weyrauch@sema.dps.mo.gov
sema.dps.mo.gov

Vickie Villagomez
Emergency Mgmt. Office
P.O. Box 825
Saipan, MP 96950
670-322-9528
670-322-7743 Fax
vvvillagomez@gmail.com
cnmiemo.gov/mp/
Mississippi

Jana Henderson, CFM
Mississippi Emergency Mgmt. Agency
P.O. Box 5644
Pearl, MS 39288
601-933-6622
jhenderson@mema.ms.gov
Msema.org

Montana

Jake Ganieany
Montana Department of Military Affairs
Disaster & Emergency Services
1956 Mt. Majo St.
Ft. Harrison, MT 59636
406-324-4776
jake.ganieany@mt.gov
dma.mt.gov

North Carolina

Steve McGugan, CFM
North Carolina Division of Emergency Mgmt.
1830-B Tillery Pl.
Raleigh, NC 27604
919-825-2314
steve.mcgugan@ncdps.gov
ncem.org

North Dakota

Todd Joersz
North Dakota Department of Emergency Services
P.O. Box 5511
Bismarck, ND 58506-5511
701-328-8261
tjoersz@nd.gov
nd.gov

Nebraska

John Gassmann
Nebraska Emergency Management Agency
2433 N.W. 24th St.
Lincoln, NE 68524
402-432-0563
john.gassmann@nebraska.gov
nema.nebraska.gov

New Hampshire

Beth Peck
New Hampshire Emergency Mgmt.
110 Smokey Bear Blvd.
Concord, NH 03301
603-223-3655
elizabeth.peck@dos.nh.gov
nh.gov/safety/divisions/hsem/

New Jersey

Robert Little / Michael Gallagher
New Jersey Emergency Mgmt.
P.O. Box 7068
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068
609-963-6963
732-345-2345
lpp4895@gw.njsp.org / lpp5698@gw.njsp.org
state.nj.us/njoem

New Mexico

Wendy Blackwell, CFM
New Mexico DHS, Emergency Mgmt.
P.O. Box 27111
Santa Fe, NM 87502
505-476-9676
wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
nmdhsem.org

Nevada

Janell Woodward
Nevada Emergency Mgmt. Agency
2478 Fairview Dr.
Carson City, NV 89701
775-687-0314
jwoodward@dps.state.nv.us
dem.nv.gov

New York

Richard Lord
New York State Emergency Mgmt. Agency
1220 Washington Ave., Ste. 101, Bldg. 22
Albany, NY 12226
518-292-2370
richard.lord@dhses.ny.gov
dhses.ny.gov

Ohio

Steven Ferryman, CFM
Ohio Emergency Mgmt. Agency
2855 W. Dublin-Granville Rd.
Columbus, OH 43235
614-799-3539
saferryman@dps.state.oh.us
ema.ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Yohanes Sugeng, CFM
Oklahoma Water Resources Board
3800 N. Classen Blvd.
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
405-530-8867
yohanes.sugeng@owrb.ok.gov
owrb.ok.gov

Oregon

Angie Lane
Oregon Emergency Mgmt. Agency
3225 State St.
Salem, OR 97301
503-378-4660
angie.lane@mil.state.or.us
oregon.gov

Pennsylvania

Tom Hughes
Pennsylvania Emergency Mgmt. Agency
2605 Interstate Dr.
Harrisburg, PA 17110
717-651-2726
thughes@pa.gov
pema.pa.gov

Puerto Rico

Carel Velázquez Pola
Puerto Rico Office of the Governor’s Authorized Representative
P.O. Box 194140
San Juan, PR 00919-4140
787-724-0124 x40049
cvelazquez@prema.pr.gov
prfaa.pr.gov

Rhode Island

Melinda Hopkins, CFM
Rhode Island Emergency Mgmt. Agency
645 New London Ave.
Cranston, RI 02920
401-462-7141
melinda.hopkins@ema.ri.gov
riema.ri.gov

South Carolina

Allen Fountain
South Carolina Emergency Mgmt. Division
2779 Fish Hatchery Rd.
West Columbia, SC 29172
803-413-5242
afountain@emd.sc.gov
scemd.org

South Dakota

Jim Poppen, CFM
South Dakota Division of Emergency Mgmt.
118 W. Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
605-773-3231
jim.poppen@state.sd.us
oem.sd.gov

Tennessee

Doug Worden
Tennessee Emergency Mgmt. Agency
3041 Sidco Drive
P.O. Box 41502
Nashville, TN 37204-1502
615-741-1345
douglas.worden@tn.gov
tnema.org

Texas

Dave Jackson
Texas Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773
512-424-7820
david.Jackson@dps.texas.gov
txdps.state.tx.us/dem/

Utah

Brad Bartholomew
Utah Division of Emergency Mgmt.
1110 State Office Bldg.
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1203
801-538-3769
bbart@utah.gov
dem.utah.gov

Virginia

Robert Coates, CFM
Virginia Department of Emergency Mgmt.
10501 Trade Ct.
Richmond, VA 23236
804-897-9766
robert.coates@vdem.virginia.gov
vaemergency.com

Al Javois
Virgin Islands Emergency Mgmt. Agency
2C Contant – AQ Bldg.
St. Thomas, VI 00802
340-774-2244
vitema.vi.gov
Vermont

Lauren Oates
Vermont Department of Public Safety
45 State Dr.
Waterbury, VT 05671
802-241-5363
lauren.oates@vermont.gov
demhs.vermont.gov/funding/mitigation

Washington

Tim Cook
Washington Emerg. Mgmt. Division
Camp Murray, WA 98430-5000
253-512-7072
tim.cook@mil.wa.gov
emd.wa.gov

Wisconsin

Robyn Wiseman, CFM
Wisconsin Emergency Mgmt.
2400 Wright St.
Madison, WI 53711
608-888-5292
robyn.wiseman@wisconsin.gov
dma.wi.gov/DMA/wem

West Virginia

Brian Penix
West Virginia, Division of Homeland Security Emergency Mgmt.
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E., Capitol Bldg. 1, Rm. EB80
Charleston, WV 25305-0360
304-957-2572
brian.m.penix@wv.gov
dhsem.wv.gov

Wyoming

Melinda Gibson, CFM
Wyoming Homeland Security
5500 Bishop Blvd.
Cheyenne, WA 82002
307-777-4914
melinda.gibson@wyo.gov
hls.wyo.gov

Please contact memberhelp@floods.org for any errors or additions needed.
This page was last updated on May 8, 2020.

Author